IPL Auction 2017: ‘Indian Starc’ Aniket hits Rs2 Crore Jackpot

The left-arm pacer is bought by RCB while Nathu Singh has been roped in by Gujarat at Rs50 lakh and spinner Rahul Chahar is picked by Pune

 

It was more of a tennis duel when Gujarat Lions and Royal Challenger Bangalore (RCB) played a long rally in a bid to buy Team Rajasthan pacer Aniket Choudhary before the latter pushed the winning volley and sealed the deal. Initially pegged at a modest Rs10 lakh base price, the left-arm bowler notched a whopping deal of Rs2 Crore during the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017 auction held in Bangalore on Monday. Other two players from the team who could grab the deals were pacer Nathu Singh and legspinner Rahul Chahar.
Nathu was the first buy of Gujarat Lions who bought him for Rs50 lakh against his Rs30 lakh base price. It was a pay-cut for Nathu as last year Mumbai Indians had splurge Rs3.2 crore on the Rajasthan Express. Riding on the good show in Vinoo Mankad Trophy and international U-19 meets in 2016-17, the teenager Rahul was picked up by Rising Pune Super Giants at Rs10 lakh.
Moreover, both the pacers right now are with Team India in Pune to help prepare the team to tackle the fiery Mitchell Starc and company. Of late, Aniket was also been a part of training camp of Team India ahead of series against New Zealand and India A warm up game against Bangladesh.
Aniket wasn’t expecting to fetch this huge sum and when the auction was underway he was accidently bowling to Virat Kohli in the nets. “When I was bowling to Virat Kohli someone from the team management informed me about my selection by RCB.” He feels that the withdrawing of the Australian left-arm pacer Mitchell Starc from RCB somewhat played a role in his selection. “Definitely it created an opportunity and luckily I have been giving good performances that eventually went in my favour.”
It was RCB’s head coach Daniel Vettori’s message that made the news appear real. “He messaged me- Congratulations! Welcome to RCB. I see this as the stepping stone to play for Team India. Good IPL performance will definitely open more doors. More than money it is the opportunity to play IPL under Kohli is what I am looking forward to. If I will perform money will eventually come.”
Nathu too shared the same sentiment, “I have been picked up at a lower price but I am hoping that I will get a chance to play for Gujarat Lions. Money is secondary as I am a staunch believer of the ideology that hardwork and performance help you climb upwards.” It was Kohli who informed him about his new team. “I was bowling in nets and when Virat bhaiya started saying something to me in Gujarati. I said to I am a Rajasthani not Gujarati and then he congratulated me for being picked up by Gujarat Lions.”
Moreover, pacer Deepak Chahar who was last year bought at a price of Rs10 lakh by Pune is retained by the franchise and similar is the case with another left-arm pacer Khalil Ahmed who has been retained by Delhi Daredevils and didn’t go under the hammer.
Leave a Reply

